It Was Worth the Wait

Wait is a four letter word with four feet deeper of a meaning. Wait they said, it will be worth it they said. That’s what they all said, and I believed what they said. And I waited. I waited till sunrises became sunsets, till see you laters turned to goodbyes. I waited till hellos became I love you’s and I miss you’s. I waited until I couldn’t take it anymore. 



You are the spark in every firework during New Year’s Eve.

You were worth the wait.

You are the chocolate and flowers I got for Valentine’s Day. 

You were worth the wait.


You are the diploma I waited 4 years for. 

You were worth the wait.


You are the season of rain in the desert.

You were worth the wait.


You are the blazing heat of summer.

You were worth the wait.


You are the majestic snow of winter, beautiful but cold.

You were worth the wait.


You are the falling leaves and autumn, slowly turning green to red.

You were worth the wait.


You are my 2am I miss you’s and 2pm how are you’s

You were worth the wait.


You are the million dollar call that just won’t ring.

You were worth the wait.


You are the train that I just kept on missing.

You were worth the wait.


You are my horizon, where the sun sets and rises.

You were worth the wait.


You are you, you were worth it.

You were worth the wait until I realized 

Waiting for you got me nowhere

And that 

Waiting for you got me nothing 

But scars. 

Leave a Reply

